Afro-Tech and the Future of Re-Invention © HMKV
Cristina De Middel, Iko Iko aus "The Afronauts", 2012 © Cristina De Middel

Afro-Tech, and the Future of Re-Invention

Research and exhibition project – funded by the TURN Fund

Rwanda wants to become Africa’s Silicon Valley. The African Internet market is booming and promises lucrative returns. This development also means that conventions of Western technology are frequently imitated, thereby hindering alternative, radical and visionary inventions of contemporary technology. As an instrument of global communication, the Internet often shapes diverse cultures according to established standards. The end user – whether in Europe or Africa – is usually unaware of the ideologies inscribed in such technologies. As Frank Schirrmacher concluded in the FAZ in 2010, “technologies are more powerful ideologies than political ones”.

The project “Afro-Tech, and the Future of Re-Invention” by Hartware MedienKunstVerein examined the technological innovations on the African continent and the basic understanding of innovation, on which these are based. The exhibition investigated what intercultural dialogues, alternative narratives and postcolonial reflection on technology could look like: What potential do debates on emancipation and empowerment have in the current discussion about the consequences of digitalisation and networking? What views and demands define this interest? And what might a polycentric, networked world look like in a world where the technological centres are no longer located solely in the West, but also in the Global South?

“Afro-Tech, and the Future of Re-Invention” brought artists and cultural producers from several African countries together who wish to imagine, develop and use technologies based on non-Western standards. It presented projects which feature innovative and adaptive approaches and immense ingenuity, and envisions technology beyond prefabricated commercial products (e.g. in the form of urine-powered electrical generators). Furthermore, it does not view hacking and inventing as “necessary improvisation under trying circumstances”, but rather as a modern practice in step with the times. In this way, the exhibition sketched a connection between Afrofuturism and alternative technological energies and imaginations. The counter-narratives and speculations contained within the artistic pieces were presented in relation to real inventions from the maker scene.

A project week, organised in cooperation with Africa Positive e.V. at various venues in Dortmund, featured theme-related workshops, concerts and performances. The exhibition was developed in co-production with Interkultur Ruhr of the Ruhr Regional Association (RVR).

Curators: Inke Arns (DE), Fabian Saavedra-Lara (DE)
Participating artists: Jude Agnowih (NG), John Akomfrah (GH), Jean Pierre Bekolo (CM), Nerl Beloufa (FR), Anne Bergner (DE), Louis Henderson (NO), Martin Howse (GB), Denis Roio aka Jaromil (IT), Wanuri Kahiu (KE), Kapwani Kiwanga (CA), Abu Bakarr Mansaray (SL), Yvette Mutumba (DE), Emeka Okafor (US), Rachida Phillips (US), Rammellzee (US), Simon Rittmeier (DE), Bisi Silva (NG), Veye Tatah (DE), Juliet Wanyiri (KE)

Date
21.10.2017 - 22.04.2018 Dortmunder U, Dortmund Exhibition

Afro-Tech and the Future of Re-Invention © HMKV
Cristina De Middel, Iko Iko aus "The Afronauts", 2012 © Cristina De Middel

Afro-Tech, and the Future of Re-Invention

Recherche- und Ausstellungsprojekt – gefördert im Fonds TURN

Ruanda will das Silicon Valley Afrikas werden. Der rasant wachsende afrikanische Internetmarkt verspricht satte Gewinne. Diese Entwicklung bedeutet auch, dass oft westliche Vorstellungen von Technologie reproduziert und alternative, radikale und visionäre Neu-Erfindungen von zeitgenössischer Technologie verhindert werden. Das Internet wird als globales Kommunikationsmedium immer öfter zu einem Instrument, das unterschiedliche Kulturen nach seinen Standards formt. Endverbraucher – egal ob in Europa oder Afrika – sind sich jedoch nicht der Ideologien bewusst, die diesen Technologien eingeschrieben sind. "Technologien”, so Frank Schirrmacher 2010 in der FAZ, "sind gewaltigere Ideologien als politische."

Das Ausstellungsprojekt des Hartware MedienKunstVerein befasst sich mit technologischen Neuerungen auf dem Kontinent und dem Verständnis von Innovation, das diesen zu Grunde liegt. Die Ausstellung fragt danach, wie interkulturelle Dialoge, alternative Erzählungen und ein postkoloniales Nachdenken über Technologie aussehen könnten: Welches Potential haben Emanzipations- und Empowermentdebatten in der aktuellen Diskussion über die Konsequenzen von Digitalisierung und Vernetzung? Welche Blicke und Bedürfnisse bedingen dieses Interesse? Und wie könnte eine polyzentrische, vernetzte Welt der Zukunft aussehen, in der sich die technologischen Zentren der Welt nicht mehr nur im „Westen” befinden, sondern auch im Globalen Süden?

„Afro-Tech, and the Future of Re-Invention“ führt Künstler/innen und Kulturproduzent/innen verschiedener afrikanischer Ländern zusammen, die Technologien nach nicht-westlichen Standards imaginieren, entwickeln und verwenden. Es präsentiert Projekte, die sich durch innovative und adaptive Ansätze und großen Erfindungsreichtum auszeichnen und Technologie jenseits vorgefertigter kommerzieller Produkte denken (z.B. in Form uringetriebener Stromgeneratoren). Das Hacken und Erfinden wird dabei nicht als „notwendige Improvisation unter schwierigen Bedingungen” verstanden, sondern als Praxis auf der Höhe der Zeit. Die Ausstellung stellt auf diese Weise eine Verbindung zwischen Afrofuturismus und alternativen technologischen Energien und Imaginationen her. Die in den künstlerischen Arbeiten formulierten Gegennarrative und Spekulationen werden mit realen Erfindungen aus der Maker-Szene in Beziehung gesetzt.

Die Ausstellung entstand in Koproduktion mit Interkultur Ruhr des Regionalverbands Ruhr (RVR) und ist Teil des Festivals "Afro-Tech" mit Workshops, Konzerten und Performances zum Thema.

Kuratoren: Inke Arns (DE), Fabian Saavedra-Lara (DE)
Mit: Jude Agnowih (NG), John Akomfrah (GH), Jean Pierre Bekolo (CM), Nerl Beloufa (FR), Anne Bergner (DE), Louis Henderson (NO), Martin Howse (GB), Denis Roio aka Jaromil (IT), Wanuri Kahiu (KE), Kapwani Kiwanga (CA), Abu Bakarr Mansaray (SL), Yvette Mutumba (DE), Emeka Okafor (US), Rachida Phillips (US), Rammellzee (US), Simon Rittmeier (DE), Bisi Silva (NG), Veye Tatah (DE), Juliet Wanyiri (KE)

Termine
21.10.2017 - 22.04.2018 Dortmunder U, Dortmund Ausstellung