„Afropean Mimicry & Mockery in Theatre, Performance & Visual Arts“ - Steven Cohen & Manuel Vason Collaboration / La Rochelle (c) Steven Cohen / Manuel Vason
Selina Thompson © Selina Thompson
Nelisiwe Xaba, Foto: Maurice Korbel
Dieudonné Niangouna, Foto: Armel Louzala

Afropean Mimicry & Mockery

Production and research platform - supported by the TURN Fund

... in Theatre, Performance & Visual Arts

Mimicry and mockery form a common thread which runs through centuries of African-European encounter. Appropriation and segregation, demonisation and exaggeration, affirmation and over-affirmation all have a long tradition in Europe and Africa. From the “cake walk” of slaves, which the colonial powers used to ridicule, to “black facing” in minstrel shows, from Jim Knopf to recent Disney movies, from Black Power, hip hop and hoodoo to Afropolitanism, Afropeanism and Afrofuturism. Mimicry and mockery are closely related and continue to influence cultural and artistic forms of expression and discourse with regard to European-African encounters.

“Afropean Mimicry & Mockery in Theatre, Performance & Visual Arts“ is a project headed by the Congolese director Dieudonné Diangouna together with Matthias Pees (general director of the  Mousonturm) and curator Martin Baasch. Together with African and European artists and scholars from the fields of theatre, performance and fine arts, they will embark on a three-year artistic and theoretical research endeavour to investigate the subject. What attributes and images of both continents do artists find interesting nowadays? What kind of aesthetics, forms and working methods do they feel obliged to use? At the beginning of the 21th century, where are the flashpoints of artistic and political debate which claims to be de-colonial, colour blind, diasporic and transcultural? Under the aegis of the Mousonturm Frankfurt, the project will be supported by a cooperation network which includes the Théâtre de Vidy Lausanne (CH), the lagos_live Festival (NG) and the Festival Mantsina in Brazzaville (CG).

In addition to collaborating with the Congolese Dieudonné Niangouna as an “artiste associé” of the Mousonsturm, the project also plans to organise four artist-in-residence productions in Frankfurt, Lausanne, Lagos and Brazzaville. Another two international co-productions by Dieudonné Niangouna are planned with performances in all four partner theatres. The project also includes two theoretical-artistic laboratory and discussion series in Frankfurt with satellite events in Lausanne, Lagos and Brazzaville, and a compilation of the results presented during a performance and art festival at the Künstlerhaus Mousonturm in Frankfurt.

Artistic director: Dieudonné Niangouna (CG)

Schedule

Kick-off Weekend: 14. - 16.11.2014
March 2015: world premiere of “Le Kung Fu” by Dieudonné Niangouna
28.10. - 1.11.2015: Afropean Mimicry and Mockery Part II with performances, discussions and the play "Le Socle des Vertiges" by Dieudonné Niangouna
December 2015: lagos_live Festival
April 2016 – March 2017: world premiere of the four artist-in-residence productions, guest performances, discussion and laboratory series
24.11. - 3.12.2016: "Festival of Afropean Arts" - Afropean Mimicry and Mockery Part III
February 2017: compilation of all the project parts, presented at a performance and art festival at the Mousonturm, world premiere of the second co-production

„Afropean Mimicry & Mockery in Theatre, Performance & Visual Arts“ - Steven Cohen & Manuel Vason Collaboration / La Rochelle (c) Steven Cohen / Manuel Vason
Selina Thompson © Selina Thompson
Nelisiwe Xaba, Foto: Maurice Korbel
Dieudonné Niangouna, Foto: Armel Louzala

Afropean Mimicry & Mockery

Produktions- und Rechercheplattform - Gefördert im Fonds TURN

...in Theatre, Performance & Visual Arts

Mimicry & Mockery – Nachahmung und Verspottung ziehen sich wie ein roter Faden durch die Jahrhunderte afrikanisch-europäischer Begegnung. Aneignung und Abgrenzung, Dämonisierung und Überhöhung, Affirmation und Überaffirmation haben eine lange Tradition in Europa und Afrika. Vom Cake-Walk der Sklaven, der die kolonialen Herrschaften verspottete, vom Black Facing der Minstrel Shows bis zu Jim Knopf und aktuellen Disney-Produktionen, von Black Power, Hip Hop und HooDoo bis hin zu Afropolitanism, AfroPeanism und AfroFuturism. Nachahmung und Verspottung liegen nah beieinander und prägen bis heute kulturelle und künstlerischen Ausdrucksformen und Diskurse über europäische-afrikanische Begegnungen.

Das Projekt „Afropean Mimicry & Mockery in Theatre, Performance & Visual Arts“ unter der Leitung des kongolesischen Regisseurs Dieudonné Diangouna in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Leiter des Mousonturms, Matthias Pees und dem Kurator Martin Baasch nimmt dieses Thema zum Ausgangspunkt einer auf drei Jahre angelegten künstlerischen und theoretischen Forschungsarbeit mit afrikanischen und europäischen Künstler/innen und Wissenschaftler/innen aus den Bereichen Theater, Performance und Bildender Kunst. Was interessiert Künstler/innen heute an den Bildern und Zuschreibungen der beiden Kontinente? Welchen Ästhetiken, Formen und Arbeitsweisen fühlen sie sich verpflichtet? Wo steht die künstlerische und politische Auseinandersetzung zu Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts, das für sich in Anspruch nimmt, dekolonial, colour-blind, diasporisch und transkulturell zu sein? Unter der Federführung des Mousonturm Frankfurt wird das Projekt getragen von einem Kooperationsnetzwerk, zu dem das Théâtre de Vidy Lausanne (CH), das lagos_live Festival (NG) und das Festival Mantsina Brazzaville (CG) gehören.

Neben der Zusammenarbeit mit Dieudonné Niangouna als „Artiste Associé“ des Mousonsturms sieht das Projekt vier Produktions-Residenzen ausgewählter Künstler/innen in Frankfurt, Lausanne, Lagos und Brazzaville vor. Weiterhin sind zwei internationale Koproduktionen Niangounas mit Aufführungen in allen vier Partnerhäusern geplant. Darüber hinaus gibt es zwei theoretisch-künstlerische Labor- und Diskursreihen in Frankfurt mit Satelliten-Veranstaltungen in Lausanne, Lagos und Brazzaville sowie die Zusammenführung der Ergebnisse im Rahmen eines Performance- und Kunstfestivals am Künstlerhaus Mousonturm.

Künstlerische Leitung: Dieudonné Niangouna (CG)

Termine

14. - 16. November 2014: Auftaktwochenende mit der Uraufführung  „Le Kung Fu“ von Dieudonné Niangouna
28. Oktober - 1. November 2015: Afropean Mimicry and Mockery Teil II mit Performances, einer Ausstellung und dem Theaterstück "Le Socle des Vertiges" von Dieudonné Niangouna
Dezember 2015: lagos_live Festival
April 2016 - März 2017: Uraufführung der vier Residenzproduktionen, Gastspielaufführungen, Diskurs- und Laborreihe
24. November - 3. Dezember 2016: Afropean Mimicry and Mockery Teil III
Februar 2017: Zusammenführung aller Projektteile im Rahmen eines Performance- und Kunstfestivals am Mousonturm, Uraufführung der zweiten Koproduktion

Termine
24.11.2016 - 03.12.2016 Mousonturm, Frankfurt/Main Das Festival der Afropäischen Künste
28.10.2015 - 01.11.2015 Mousonturm, Frankfurt/Main Afropean Mimicry and Mockery Teil II
14.11.2014 - 16.11.2014 Mousonturm, Frankfurt/Main Auftaktwochenende