Gato Preto © Robert Eikelpoth & Alexander Wurm

LusAfro

Lusophone music from Africa – funded by the TURN Fund

Here in Germany, Portuguese-language (Lusophone) music from African countries is even lesser known than Francophone or Anglophone African music. Apart from the world-famous Cape Verdean singer Cesária Évora, there is a multifaceted scene of Lusophone music spanning diverse styles and genres, from Kuduru from Angola to Marrabenta from Mozambique to Hip Hop from Cape Verde. Together with the Cape Verdean label Harmonia, the music label Piranha Arts is organising a series of workshops and concerts in Germany and on Cape Verde titled “LusAfro” featuring musicians from Mozambique, Angola, Guinea-Bissau, São Tomé & Príncipe, Cape Verde and Germany.

Under the artistic direction of the musician/journalist duo Daniel Haaksman and Francis Gay, the three-phased project “LusAfro” will encourage artistic exchange and help to create effective, sustainable networks between Lusophone African and German artists in the long term. The project will begin with a joint series of workshops and concerts as part of the Atlantic Music Expo (AME) in Praia. The non-profit music expo AME was established on Cape Verde in 2013 as an annual forum for musicians and music professionals from Africa and the Atlantic region. Meanwhile, it has become one of the most important meeting places for the Lusophone scene in Sub-Saharan Africa. It has also become something of a post-colonial think-tank devoted to strengthening the African music sector and transatlantic relations.

In the second phase of the project, the participating musicians will present their latest work at the open-air road festival “Odyssey” by the WDR broadcaster Funkhaus Europa and at the Bardentreffen in Nuremberg. The project will conclude with concerts performed at the WDR event series “Big Up!” in Berlin.

The resulting music productions will be compiled and published online and released on CD. The project will be accompanied by a blog and video documentary.

Artistic directors: Daniel Haaksman (DE), Francis Gay (DE/FR)

Artists: Alberto Koening (CV), Africaine 808 (GER), Batchart (CV), Buruntuma (GW / PT), Ceuzany (CV), Conductor (AO / PT),  Dama do Bling (MZ), Daniel Haaksman (GER), Dino D´Santiago (CV / PT), DJ Marfox (ST / PT), Djox (CV), Fattú Diakité (CV), Gato Preto (MZ / GER), Helio Batalha (CV), Kalaf Epalanga (AO / GER), Mister Santos (GER / PT), Nissah Barboza (CV), Rapaz 100 Juiz (CV), Seiji (GB / GER)

Date
25.11.2017 Gretchen Club, Berlin Concerts as part of the "Big Up!" event series
19.07.2017 - 22.07.2017 Open Air, Hagen, Recklinghausen, Mülheim, Bochum Concerts as part of the "Odyssey festival"
06.04.2017 - 11.04.2017 AME, Praia Production workshops, Matchmaking events & Concerts

Gato Preto © Robert Eikelpoth & Alexander Wurm

LusAfro

Lusophone Musik aus Afrika – gefördert im Fonds TURN

Portugiesischsprachige Musik aus afrikanischen Ländern ist hierzulande weniger bekannt als die frankophone und anglophone afrikanische Musik. Dabei gibt es – neben der weltbekannten kapverdischen Sängerin Cesária Évora – eine vielseitige Szene, die verschiedenste Strömungen von Kuduru aus Angola über Marrabenta aus Mosambik bis hin zu Hip Hop von den Kapverden umfasst. Zusammen mit dem kapverdischen Label Harmonia veranstaltet das Musiklabel Piranha Arts unter dem Titel „LusAfro“ eine Reihe von Workshops und Konzerten in Deutschland und auf den Kapverden, in denen Musiker aus Mosambik, Angola, Guinea-Bissau, São Tomé & Príncipe, den Kapverden und Deutschland zusammenkommen.

Unter der künstlerischen Leitung der Musiker und Journalisten Daniel Haaksman und Francis Gay wird „LusAfro“ in drei Projektphasen den Austausch und die Etablierung langfristig wirksamer Netzwerke zwischen lusophonen afrikanischen und deutschen Künstlern fördern. Den Auftakt bildet eine gemeinsame Workshop- und Konzertreihe im Rahmen der AME (Atlantic Music Expo) in Praia. Die Non-Profit-Musikmesse AME wurde 2013 auf den Kapverden als jährliches Forum für Musiker und Fachbesucher aus Afrika und dem atlantischen Raum ins Leben gerufen. Sie ist seitdem zum wichtigsten Szenetreffpunkt des subsaharischen Afrika geworden und hat sich darüber hinaus zu einem postkolonialen Think Tank entwickelt, der sich der Stärkung des afrikanischen Musiksektors und der transatlantischen Beziehungen widmet.

In einer zweiten Phase präsentieren sich die beteiligten Musiker auf dem Open-Air-Roadfestival „Odyssee“ des WDR-Rundfunksenders Funkhaus Europa sowie auf dem Bardentreffen in Nürnberg. Den Abschluss bilden Konzerte im Rahmen der WDR-Veranstaltungsreihe „Big Up!“ in Berlin.

Die entstandenen Musikproduktionen werden als Compilation online sowie als CD veröffentlicht. Ein Blog und eine Videodokumentation begleiten das Projekt.  

Künstlerische Leitung: Daniel Haaksman (DE), Francis Gay (DE/FR), Künstlerische Mitarbeit und Beratung: José da Silva (CV)

Künstler/innen: Alberto Koening (CV), Africaine 808 (GER), Batchart (CV), Buruntuma (GW / PT), Ceuzany (CV), Conductor (AO / PT),  Dama do Bling (MZ), Daniel Haaksman (GER), Dino D´Santiago (CV / PT), DJ Marfox (ST / PT), Djox (CV), Fattú Diakité (CV), Gato Preto (MZ / GER), Helio Batalha (CV), Kalaf Epalanga (AO / GER), Mister Santos (GER / PT), Nissah Barboza (CV), Rapaz 100 Juiz (CV), Seiji (GB / GER)

Termine
06.04.2017 - 11.04.2017 AME, Praia Produktionsworkshops, Matchmaking-Veranstaltungen & Konzerte
19.07.2017 - 22.07.2017 Open Air, Hagen, Recklinghausen, Mülheim, Bochum Konzerte im Rahmen des "Odyssee Festival"
04.11.2017 Gretchen Club, Berlin Konzerte im Rahmen von "Big Up!"