Tipo Passe © Edson Chagas, Courtesy of Stevenson, Cape Town/Johannesburg

Madgermanes – Mystery of Foreign Affairs

Research and exhibition project in Schwerin and Maputo – funded by the TURN Fund

Many people have little or no knowledge of Germany’s political dealings in post-colonial Africa. This also applies to the fate of numerous guest workers from Mozambique and Angola who came to East Germany in the 1970s in hopes of someday putting their foreign experience to use to build a class of academic elite in their home countries. This hope became a reality for only a very few. The large majority of around 20,000 Mozambiquans were put to work at the machines of publicly owned companies (VEB) to pay off – as it later turned out – their country’s foreign debt to East Germany. Most of the workers’ wages were directly transferred to their home countries even before they were paid to them.
When the so-called “Madgermanes” were sent back to Mozambique following German reunification, they believed their government would pay them back their garnished wages, which never happened. Over the past 25 years, the former guest workers in Mozambique and Germany have been fighting to receive full retroactive payment of their wages and corresponding pension benefits. In their home countries, they have become a political force, and in Mozambique, represent the only visible non-parliamentary opposition party.

In cooperation with the German-Mozambiquan Cultural Institute (ICMA) in Maputo, the Regional Centre for Political Education in Schwerin and the “Madgermanes – Mystery of Foreign Affairs” associations in Germany, this project by the Kunstverein Schwerin is developing an exhibition to highlight this lesser known chapter of East German foreign policy. The project ventures out in search of a collective cultural and political history. Focusing on questions of home, hope, identity and affiliation, the project deconstructs hegemonic notions and searches for artistic strategies which address mutual post-colonial history. Together with contemporary artists, the project will reflect on historical relationships and place them in context to the exhibition venue.

Artistic director: Andreas Wegner (DE)
Curators: Christiane Opitz (DE), Andreas Wegner (DE)
Artists: Maimuna Adam (MZ/GB), Filipe Branquinho (MZ), Edson Chagas (AO), Iris Buchholz Chocolate (AO), Jorge Dias (MZ), Katja Eydel (D), Gemuce (MZ), Simon Gush (ZA), Tina Krüger (MZ), Mário Macilau (MZ), Katrin Michel (D), Zanele Muholi (ZA), Félix Mula (MZ), Matias Ntundo (MZ), Mauro Pinto (MZ), Dito Tembe (MZ)

Date
17.09.2017 - 27.11.2017 Kunstverein, Schwerin Exhibition
03.12.2016 Kunstverein, Schwerin Workshop: Madgermanes - Mystery of Foreign Affairs

Dates and venues

Spring 2018: Centre Culturel Franco-Mozambicain (CCFM) / German-Mozambiquan Cultural Institute (ICMA) / Centro Cultural Português (CCP), Maputo – exhibition

Tipo Passe © Edson Chagas, Courtesy of Stevenson, Cape Town/Johannesburg

Madgermanes – Mystery of Foreign Affairs

Recherche- und Ausstellungsprojekt in Schwerin und Maputo – gefördert im Fonds TURN

Die politischen Verstrickungen Deutschlands im postkolonialen Afrika sind bis heute in großen Teilen nahezu unbekannt. Dazu zählen die Schicksale zahlreicher Gastarbeiter, die Ende der 1970er Jahre aus Mosambik und Angola in die DDR kamen, mit der Hoffnung, durch Ausbildung und Studium in Deutschland die Bildungseliten ihrer Länder aufbauen zu können. Diese Hoffnung erfüllte sich jedoch nur für wenige: Die große Mehrheit der rund 20.000 Mosambikaner stand als Vertragsarbeiter an den Werkbänken der Volkseigenen Betriebe (VEB), um – wie sich später herausstellte – die Staatsschulden ihres Landes abzuarbeiten. Der größere Teil ihres Lohnes wurde noch vor Auszahlung direkt an ihre Heimatländer überwiesen.
Als die so genannten „Madgermanes“ nach der Wiedervereinigung nach Mosambik zurückgeschickt wurden, glaubten sie, dass das Geld von ihrer Regierung an sie ausgezahlt würde, was jedoch nicht der Fall war. Seit nunmehr 25 Jahren kämpfen die ehemaligen Gastarbeiter in Mosambik und in Deutschland für die rückwirkende vollständige Auszahlung ihrer Löhne und Rentenversicherungsbeiträge. In ihren Heimatländern sind sie dabei zu einem politischen Faktor geworden und bilden in Mosambik die einzig sichtbare außerparlamentarische Opposition.

Das Projekt „Madgermanes – Mystery of Foreign Affairs“ des Kunstvereins Schwerin widmet sich in Kooperation mit dem Deutsch-Mosambikanischen Kulturinstitut (ICMA) in Maputo, der Landeszentrale für politische Bildung Schwerin und den „Madgermanes“-Vereinen in Deutschland nun in einer Ausstellung diesem wenig bekannten Kapitel der DDR-Außenpolitik. Das Projekt begibt sich auf die Spurensuche nach einer kollektiven kulturellen und politischen Geschichte, bei der Fragen nach Heimat und Hoffnung, Identität und Zughörigkeit ebenso im Fokus stehen wie die Dekonstruktion hegemonialer Begrifflichkeiten und die Suche nach künstlerischen Strategien im Umgang der gemeinsamen postkolonialen Geschichte. Mit zeitgenössischen Künstler/innen, u.a. aus Mosambik und Angola, werden die historischen Zusammenhänge reflektiert und ein Bezug zum Ausstellungsort hergestellt.

Künstlerische Leitung: Andreas Wegner (DE)
Kurator/in: Christiane Opitz (DE), Andreas Wegner (DE)
Künstler/innen: Maimuna Adam (MZ/GB), Filipe Branquinho (MZ), Edson Chagas (AO), Iris Buchholz Chocolate (AO), Jorge Dias (MZ), Katja Eydel (D), Gemuce (MZ), Simon Gush (ZA), Tina Krüger (MZ), Mário Macilau (MZ), Katrin Michel (D), Zanele Muholi (ZA), Félix Mula (MZ), Matias Ntundo (MZ), Mauro Pinto (MZ), Dito Tembe (MZ)

Termine
17.09.2017 - 28.11.2017 Kunstverein, Schwerin Ausstellung
03.12.2016 Kunstverein, Schwerin Öffentlicher Workshop: Madgermanes - Mystery of Foreign Affairs

Weitere Termine

April/Mai 2018: Ausstellung - Centre Culturel Franco-Mozambicain (CCFM) / Deutsch-Mosambikanisches Kulturinstitut (ICMA) / Centro Cultural Português (CCP), Maputo