Willem von der Band 'Telephone', 1985, Fotograf unbekannt

Stolen Moments: Namibian Music History Untold

Archival and exhibition project – funded by the TURN Fund

Namibian pop music between 1950 and 1980, in other words, the musical culture of the townships which the ruling Apartheid government attempted to suppress, is the focus of a collaboration between the Iwalewa House in Bayreuth and the Stolen Moments Group from Windhoek. Twenty-six years after Namibia democratised its society, this archival and exhibition project highlights an important aspect of Namibian collective cultural identity which censors had banned from public view and erased from official memory.

The project features several exhibition modules based on extensive research involving the collaboration with still-living musicians from that time, e.g. Baby Doeseb, Kakuja Kembale und Jackson Wahengo, all of whom hoped to revive the presumably lost repertory. One module is entitled “Pantheon of Namibian Music” which pays tribute to marginalised bands and singers with new studio recordings and newly designed album covers. Exhibition goers can listen to the voices of contemporary witnesses in the project “Radio from Outer Space”. Using analogue radios, visitors can tune in to nine different radio stations and listen to a selection of over one hundred hours of interviews with contemporary witnesses. These are accompanied by historic photos of the bands and the legendary venues of Namibia’s musical subculture. In addition to large-scale coloured photos by the photographer Stephan Zaubitzer depicting dancehall venues, a 90-minute film documentary revisits the dance styles of that period, e.g. Boymasaka, Froggy Froggy and Langarm. In the archival section of the exhibition, visitors can physically and virtually explore the entire collection of image, audio and text material using a Wiki-like encyclopaedia specifically designed for the exhibition.

The research efforts for the project began with the works by the musician Ben Molatzi. The project organisers had originally planned to have him re-record his old songs at the Pop Akademie studios in Mannheim. Unfortunately Ben Molatzi died in 2016 just days before his planned trip to Germany. The exhibition is dedicated to his memory.

Artistic directors: Aino Moongo (NA) and Ulf Vierke (DE)
Participants: Baby Doeseb (NA), Werner Hillebrecht (NA), Thorsten Schütte (DE), Hercules Viljoen (NA)

Date
25.11.2017 - 14.01.2018 Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin Exhibition
04.11.2016 - 30.04.2017 Iwalewahaus, Bayreuth Exhibition

Additional dates

Basler Afrika Bibliographien: June 2017

Willem von der Band 'Telephone', 1985, Fotograf unbekannt
Stolen Moments

Stolen Moments: Namibian Music History Untold

Archivierungs- und Ausstellungsprojekt – gefördert im Fonds TURN

Die namibische Popmusik aus der Zeit zwischen 1950 und 1980, das heißt die von der Apartheid-Regierung unterdrückte musikalische Kultur der Townships steht im Zentrum der Zusammenarbeit des Iwalewahaus in Bayreuth und der Stolen Moments Group aus Windhoek. Das Archivierungs- und Ausstellungsprojekt rückt 26 Jahre nach der Demokratisierung Namibias diesen wichtigen Aspekt kollektiver kultureller Identität in den Fokus, den die Zensur abgedrängt und aus der offiziellen Erinnerung gelöscht hatte.

Aufbauend auf einer langen Recherchephase und gemeinsam mit noch lebenden Musiker/innen wie Baby Doeseb, Kakuja Kembale und Jackson Wahengo, die die verloren geglaubten Repertoires zum Teil wiederbeleben können, entstanden verschiedene Ausstellungsmodule. Dazu gehört zum Beispiel der Pantheon of Namibian Music, der die marginalisierten Bands und Interpret/innen mit Studioaufnahmen und neu gestalteten Plattencovers würdigt. Die Stimmen der Zeitzeugen werden im Radio From Outer Space hörbar – mit analogen Radios können die Besucher an neun Sendestationen eine Auswahl aus über hundert Stunden Zeitzeugeninterviews hören. Daneben sind historische Fotos der Bands und der legendären Orten der musikalischen Subkultur zu sehen. Großformatige Farbfotos des Fotografen Stephan Zaubitzer dokumentieren die Orte der Dancehalls, Tanzstile wie Boymasaka, Froggy Froggy oder Langarm werden in einer 90minütigen Filmdokumentation wieder lebendig. Im Archivteil der Ausstellung ist das gesamte Bild-, Ton- und Textmaterial des Projekts physisch und virtuell über eine eigene Wiki recherchierbar.

Ausgangspunkt der Recherchen war das Werk des Musikers Ben Molatzi. Mit ihm war eine Neueinspielung seiner alten Songs in Zusammenarbeit in den Studios der Pop Akademie in Mannheim geplant. Ben Molatzi verstarb 2016 wenige Tage vor seiner Reise nach Deutschland. Die Ausstellung ist seinem Andenken gewidmet und präsentiert neben seiner Musik auch originale Tonträger seiner Aufnahmen aus dem Archiv des National Broadcasting Service Namibia.

Das Projekt „Stolen Moments“ zielt weiterhin darauf ab, über die Anerkennung des gemeinsamen musikalischen Erbes eine einende Wirkung in der Gesellschaft zu entfalten. Nicht zuletzt aus diesem Grund werden seine Inhalte in der National Arts Gallery und im National Archive von Namibia dauerhaft der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht.

Künstlerische Leitung: Aino Moongo (NA) und Ulf Vierke (DE)
Mit: Baby Doeseb (NA), Thorsten Schütte (DE), Hercules Viljoen (NA)

Termine
25.11.2017 - 14.01.2018 Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin Ausstellung
04.11.2016 - 30.04.2017 Iwalewahaus, Bayreuth Ausstellung

Weitere Termine

Basel, Basler Afrika Bibliographien: Juni 2017