Visualisierung des Frankfurt-Modells in der Ausstellung Frankfurt Jetzt!

The Subjective Museum

Exhibition - Funded by the International Museum Fellowship Pogramme

Focusing on Subjective Bases of Knowledge and Their Museological Consequences

Frankfurt is many cities. Which one do you live in? This question lies at the centre of “Frankfurt Now!”, the new participation-based permanent exhibition at the Historisches Museum in Frankfurt. The project aims to create a digital collection of perspectives which reveal the knowledge of experience gained through everyday practice.

As part of this fellowship, the collection will be expanded and analysed in two different ways. In search of the “sensed city“, the fellow will go out and speak with its inhabitants to learn how they feel about Frankfurt, how they perceive it and “use” it, and subsequently add his/her personal view of Frankfurt to the collection. The fellow will be given free rein to determine the content and method of his/her contribution. In today’s museum landscape, there is hardly any research conducted on collections devoted to subjective bases of knowledge. Therefore, the museum wishes to discuss with the fellow the museological consequences of focusing on subjective criteria. What objects does the curator happen to encounter? What presentation strategies are suitable? How does it change the museum as an institution? Would it lose scientific credibility to only gain “street credibility” instead?

he museum is looking to hire a curator from a “community museum“, such as the Museu da Maré in Rio de Janeiro or the District Six Museum in Cape Town. Such museums are known for playing an active role in and for the local community.

Visualisierung des Frankfurt-Modells in der Ausstellung Frankfurt Jetzt!

Das subjektive Museum

gefördert im Programm Fellowship Internationales Museum

Die Hinwendung zu subjektiven Wissensbeständen und ihre museologischen Konsequenzen

Frankfurt ist viele Städte. In welcher lebst Du? Diese Frage steht im Mittelpunkt von „Frankfurt Jetzt!“, der neuen partizipativ ausgerichteten Dauerausstellung im Historischen Museum Frankfurt. Hierfür entsteht eine digital aufbereitete Sammlung von Perspektiven, die durch Alltagspraxis erworbenes Erfahrungswissen zeigt.

Im Rahmen des Fellowship wird die Sammlung in zweifacher Hinsicht erweitert bzw. analysiert: Auf der Suche nach der „gefühlten Stadt“ macht sich der Fellow auf den Weg zu den Bewohner/innen, um zu erfahren, wie Frankfurt empfunden, wahrgenommen und „benutzt“ wird und fügt der Sammlung eine Stadtbetrachtung „seines Frankfurts“ hinzu. Inhaltlich und methodisch hat er dabei freien Spielraum. Sammlungen, die sich subjektiven Wissensbeständen widmen, sind ein in der Museumslandschaft bislang kaum erforschtes Gebiet. Deshalb möchte das Museum mit dem Fellow auch die museologischen Konsequenzen einer Hinwendung zum Subjektiven diskutieren. Welche Objekte kreuzen den Weg des Kurators? Welche Präsentationsstrategien sind geeignet? Wie verändert sich die Institution Museum? Verliert es wissenschaftliche Glaubwürdigkeit und gewinnt stattdessen „street credibility“? Ein Ziel des Fellowships ist es, eine museologische Theorie des sogenannten 'subjektiven Museums' zu entwickeln.

Gesucht wurde ein/e Kurator/in aus einem „Community Museum“, wie z.B. dem Museu da Maré in Rio de Janeiro oder dem District Six Museum in Cape Town. Diese Häuser sind in der und für die Community tätig.

Termine
26.06.2017 - 28.06.2017 Historisches Museum Frankfurt, Frankfurt am Main Internationale Konferenz "The Subjective Museum"