Deutsches Schiffahrtsmuseum, Hochseeyacht DIVA, Foto: Egbert Laska

Humans and the Sea

Semi-permanent exhibition - Funded by the International Museum Fellowship Programme

Human beings and their management of the ocean as a resource is a subject which offers insights into human forms of adaptation and strategies of survival. It also highlights the development of special technologies for laying claim to and making use of the ocean – a theme which until recently only highly specialised segments of maritime research and environmental protection have addressed.

Whenever nautical history is depicted in museum settings, it usually comes across as a very regionally anchored “narrative of loss”. The drastic transformation of maritime professions in the last thirty to forty years is expressed in an emotionally charged desire for symbols and memories of a bygone world. This image stands in stark contrast to the multinational world of 21st-century maritime technology and research.

This fellowship project aims to critically examine the museum’s own nationally-centred collection and research focuses in terms of content and design. The involvement of a fellow in developing the exhibition will contribute to portraying the subject “Humans and the Sea” as the global, international phenomenon that it is. The visitors should come away understanding to what extent their daily lives are influenced by social, economic and, above all, environmental processes of exchange worldwide.

Deutsches Schiffahrtsmuseum, Hochseeyacht DIVA, Foto: Egbert Laska

Mensch und Meer

Semi-permanente Ausstellung - gefördert im Programm Fellowship Internationales Museum

Der Mensch und dessen Umgang mit der Ressource Meer ist ein Thema, das Aufschluss über humane Adaptionsformen und Überlebensstrategien gibt. Es ist auch eine Geschichte der Entwicklung spezieller Technologien zur Aneignung und Nutzung des Meeres, die bislang meist nur in hochspezialisierten Segmenten maritimer Forschung bzw. des Umweltschutzes untersucht wurde.

Wenn Schifffahrtsgeschichte museal vermittelt wird, mutet sie meist wie eine stark regional verankerte Verlusterzählung an: Der drastische Wandel maritimer Berufswelten in den letzten dreißig bis vierzig Jahren äußert sich in einer emotional aufgeladenen Sehnsucht nach Symbolen und Erinnerungen an eine vergangene Welt. Dieses Bild steht in einem Kontrast zu der multinationalen Welt maritimer Technologie und Forschung des 21. Jahrhunderts.

Das Fellowship soll dazu führen, dass sich das Museum inhaltlich und konzeptionell einer kritischen Hinterfragung des eigenen national geprägten Sammlungs- und Forschungsstandpunktes öffnet. Die Beteiligung eines Fellows an der Ausstellungskonzeption trägt dazu bei, dass das Thema Mensch und Meer hier tatsächlich als ein globales, internationales Phänomen begriffen wird. Der Besucher soll mit allen Sinnen begreifen, in welchem Maß sein Alltag von weltweiten sozialen, ökonomischen und vor allem auch ökologischen Austauschprozessen abhängt.