Image and Space

10. Berlin Biennale Key Visual

10th Berlin Biennial for Contemporary Art

The Berlin Biennial is regarded as the most significant showcase of contemporary art and is the only biennial of its kind in Germany. Every two years leading curators venture out to discover less-established positions of recent contemporary art and offer them a presentation venue. The Berlin Biennale is known for finding novel, “non-artsy” spaces for displaying contemporary art and commissioning new works which offer artists the chance to achieve a breakthrough on the international stage.
 

Gabi Ngcobo is named curator of the 10th Berlin Biennale

The Berlin Biennale selection committee has chosen the South African curator Gabi Ngcobo to serve as curator of the upcoming 10th Berlin Biennale. Since the early 2000s Gabi Ngcobo has been engaged in collaborative artistic, curatorial, and educational projects in South Africa and on an international scope. She is a founding member of the Johannesburg based collaborative platforms NGO – Nothing Gets Organised and Center for Historical Reenactments (CHR, 2010–14). NGO focusses on processes of self-organization. The CHR investigated how artists explore and process historic legacies in contemporary art. Ngcobo has curated numerous exhibitions, including “A Labour of Love” at the Weltkulturen Museum in Frankfurt am Main, which the Federal Cultural Foundation financed through its TURN – Fund for Artistic Cooperation between Germany and African Countries.


Gabi Ngcobo has invited Moses Serubiri (Kampala, UG), Nomaduma Rosa Masilela (New York, US), Thiago de Paula Souza (São Paulo, BR), and Yvette Mutumba (Berlin, DE) to collaborate with her as the curatorial team. In addition graphic designer Maziyar Pahlevan will create the visual identity for the 10th Berlin Biennale.


The Berlin Biennial is organized by KW Institute for Contemporary Art.

Date
09.06.2018 - 09.09.2018 KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Auguststraße 69, Berlin Exhibition

Bild und Raum

10. Berlin Biennale Key Visual

10. Berlin Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst

Die Berlin Biennale gilt als das wichtigste Schaufenster für zeitgenössische Kunst und als einzige Biennale ihrer Art in Deutschland. Alle zwei Jahre setzen sich namhafte Kuratoren dafür ein, neuen, noch wenig etablierten Positionen der jüngeren Kunst ein Podium zu bieten.

Kuratorin der 10. Berlin Biennale ist Gabi Ngcobo

Das Auswahlkommitee der Berlin Biennale entschied sich für die südafrikanische Kuratorin Gabi Ngcobo als Kuratorin der kommenden 10. Berlin Biennale. Seit den frühen 2000er Jahren arbeitet Gabi Ngcobo in kollaborativen künstlerischen, kuratorischen und edukativen Projekten in Südafrika und auf internationaler Ebene. Sie ist Gründungsmitglied der zwei in Johannesburg ansässigen kollektiven Plattformen NGO – Nothing Gets Organised und Center for Historical Reenactments (CHR, 2010–14). NGO befasst sich mit Prozessen der Selbstorganisation. Das CHR untersuchte, wie historische Vermächtnisse in der zeitgenössischen Kunst aufgegriffen und verarbeitet werden. Ngcobo hat u.a. die Ausstellung "A Labour of Love" im Weltkulturen Museum in Frankfurt am Main kuratiert, die die Kulturstiftung des Bundes im Rahmen ihres TURN - Fonds für künstlerische Kooperationen zwischen Deutschland und afrikanischen Ländern gefördert hat.

Gabi Ngcobo hat Moses Serubiri (Kampala, UG), Nomaduma Rosa Masilela (New York, US), Thiago de Paula Souza (São Paulo, BR) und Yvette Mutumba (Berlin, DE) eingeladen, mit ihr als kuratorisches Team zu arbeiten. Der Grafikdesigner Maziyar Pahlevan wird der 10. Berlin Biennale ihre visuelle Identität verleihen.

 

Die Berlin Biennale wird organisiert durch die KW Institute for Contemporary Art.

Termine
09.06.2018 - 09.09.2018 KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Auguststraße 69, Berlin Ausstellung