Image and Space

Paul Gong, "Human Hyena“ © Paul Gong, Foto: Andrew Kan

Food Revolution 5.0

Design for the Society of Tomorrow

Food is a socially universal phenomenon. It signifies life, promotes identity and influences social codes and values. Cooking was one of the first activities of human culture. Food and its preparation have since moved beyond the realm of nutrition and become centrally important to our modern lifestyle. At the same time, the agricultural sector and industrial food production are among the leading drivers of climate change. What does the future of our nutrition look like in view of dwindling resources and globalised food production? How can we feed the rapidly growing human population and preserve the Earth’s ecosystem at the same time? What does ethical consumption mean? These are just some of the questions addressed in the exhibition “Food Revolution 5.0” at the Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe in Hamburg which will present visionary solutions by international designers, scholars and architects.
Developed in cooperation with the Dutch design studio Makkink & Bey, the exhibition is conceived as a multidisciplinary laboratory which investigates the future of food from a global perspective. Its dramaturgical concept consists of four stations – Farm, Supermarket, Kitchen and Table – representing the food cycle from resource to consumption. Photographers will highlight the practices of industrial agriculture, while designers will work on developing new variants of urban and indoor farming or edible packaging. Martí Guixé will present food as the only real thing in a digitalised world, and Itamar Gilboa will depict a year’s worth of his personal food consumption in porcelain form. Werner Aisslinger will design a kitchen as a biotope in which food is not just cooked, but also grown. Chloé Rutzerveld will produce “healthy snacks” with a 3D printer, and Martin Parr will present close-ups of ordinary, industrially produced meals as they’ve been served around the world for the past twenty years. A fifth room will present a compilation of the research findings and serve as a participative venue for workshops, lectures, performances and film screenings.

Artistic director: Claudia Banz
Exhibition design: Studio Makkink & Bey (NL)
Artists: Werner Aisslinger, Arabeschi di Latte (IT), Dunne & Raby (GB), Faltazi (FR), Martí Guixé (ES), Paul Gong (US), Honey & Bunny (AU), Martin Parr (GB), Chloé Rutzerveld (NL), Andrea Staudacher (CH), Marjie Vogelzang (NL)

Date
19.05.2017 - 08.10.2017 Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe, Hamburg Exhibition

Bild und Raum

Paul Gong, "Human Hyena“ © Paul Gong, Foto: Andrew Kan

Food Revolution 5.0

Gestaltung für die Gesellschaft von morgen

Essen ist ein soziales Totalphänomen: Es bedeutet Leben, stiftet Identität, prägt soziale Codes und Werte. Kochen war eine der ersten kulturellen Handlungen des Menschen. Lebensmittel und ihre Zubereitung dienen längst nicht nur der Ernährung, sondern immer mehr auch dem Lifestyle. Gleichzeitig gehören Agrarwirtschaft und gegenwärtige Nahrungsproduktion zu den Hauptverursachern des Klimawandels. Wie sieht die Zukunft unserer Ernährung aus angesichts schwindender Ressourcen und globalisierter Nahrungsproduktion? Wie kann eine rasant wachsende Weltbevölkerung im Einklang mit dem Ökosystem Erde ernährt werden? Was bedeutet ethischer Konsum? Diesen Fragen widmet sich die Ausstellung „Food Revolution 5.0“ im Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg und stellt Visionen von internationalen Gestaltern, Wissenschaftlern und Architekten zum Thema vor.
In Zusammenarbeit mit dem niederländischen Designstudio Makkink & Bey entsteht die Schau als multidisziplinäres Laboratorium zur Zukunft des Essens aus globaler Perspektive. Eine Ausstellungsdramaturgie mit den vier Stationen Farm – Supermarkt – Küche – Tisch visualisiert den Nahrungskreislauf von der Ressource bis zu ihrem Verbrauch. Fotografen beleuchten die Praktiken der industriellen Landwirtschaft, Designer entwickeln neue Varianten des Urban und Indoor Farming oder verzehrbare Verpackungen. Martí Guixé inszeniert Nahrung als einzig reales Ding in einer digitalisierten Welt, Itamar Gilboa bildet seinen Essensverbrauch eines Jahres in Porzellan ab. Werner Aisslinger entwirft eine Küche als Biotop, in der nicht nur gekocht, sondern auch angebaut wird. Chloé Rutzerveld produziert „gesunde Häppchen“ mit dem 3-D-Drucker und Martin Parr zeigt Großaufnahmen ordinärer Speisen aus industrieller Produktion, wie sie seit zwanzig Jahren rund um die Welt auf den Teller kommen. Ein fünfter Raum bündelt die Rechercheergebnisse und dient als partizipativer Ort für Workshops, Lectures, Performances und Filmvorführungen.

Künstlerische Leitung: Claudia Banz
Ausstellungsgestaltung: Studio Makkink & Bey (NL)
Künstler/innen: Werner Aisslinger, Arabeschi di Latte (IT), Dunne & Raby (GB), Faltazi (FR), Martí Guixé (ES), Paul Gong (US), Honey & Bunny (AU), Martin Parr (GB), Chloé Rutzerveld (NL), Andrea Staudacher (CH), Marjie Vogelzang (NL)

Termine
19.05.2017 - 08.10.2017 Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe, Hamburg Ausstellung