Daniel Baker, Gipsy strike through, enamel and silver laf on perspex, 60cm x 20cm, 2015 [Ausschnitt]

RomArchive

Digital Archive of the Roma

Delaine Le Bas, Self Portrait, Hellerau Dresden, 2015, © AnnetteHauschild/ OSTKREUZ

RomArchive

Digital Archive of the Roma

Mask Series 2012 – Ongoing, Tara Darby & Delaine Le Bas, Fotos: Tara Darby

RomArchive

Digital Archive of the Roma

Daniel Baker, Mobile Surveillance Device, mirrored glass, steel and mixed media, 60cm x 60cm x 95cm, 2015

RomArchive

Digital Archive of the Roma

The German Federal Cultural Foundation supports the establishment of a digital archive of the arts of the Roma. RomArchive is to become an internationally accessible space that makes the cultures and histories of the Roma visible. From 2015 to 2019, an international collection of art from all disciplines will be gathered, enhanced by scholarly texts and historical documents and accompanied by a programme of educational and cultural events. Each section of RomArchive will have its own expert team of curators, responsible for that section’s contents. RomArchive makes no claims to completeness, but sees itself as a continuously growing platform featuring representative collections. With its curated contents, modern storytelling, and intelligent contextualisation, RomArchive differs from static databases in both aesthetics and methodology.

While “hegemonic” archives have almost exclusively portrayed Roma in stereotypical ways, RomArchive focuses on their self-representation. New narratives will emerge, reflecting the heterogeneity of the Roma’s diverse national and cultural identities. The wealth of their artistic and cultural production – tightly interwoven with that of Europe as a whole, centuries old, lively and varied to this very day – will become publicly accessible and visible. RomArchive is thus addressed not only to Europe’s largest minority, but also to Europe’s social majorities.

The Idea

The idea for RomArchive is based on extensive research and numerous interviews that the project initiators Franziska Sauerbrey and Isabel Raabe conducted with Roma artists, curators, activists, and scholars all over Europe. All clearly identified the need for an internationally accessible space that would make the cultures and histories of the Roma visible and respond to recurrent stereotypes by a counter-history told by Roma themselves.



Background

There are about 12 million Roma living in Europe. Their cultural heterogeneity, diverse citizenship, and varied history notwithstanding, they form the largest European minority of common origin. Distributed across the majority populations of the world, they often live on the margins of society, sometimes integrated or even completely assimilated.

However, a study by Markus End from 2014, commissioned by the Documentation and Cultural Centre of German Sinti and Roma, shows that media coverage still follows well-trodden paths of discrimination and criminalisation. Positive counter-images and reliable information about the Roma’s culture and reality of life are scarce. Instead, perceptions are based on attributions and images projected from without, perennially shaped by a combination of fascination and contempt. Tales of the “travelling people”, their ferality and fervour, have been told and retold down to the present day. But in point of fact, the social majority knows very little about the Roma.

What the public misperceives as Roma culture is, for the most part, nothing but poverty. Other realities, like that of the Sinti, who have lived in Germany for centuries, are hardly noticed.

The Central Council of German Sinti and Roma and its associated Documentation and Cultural Centre have long campaigned for the minority’s rights and recognition. In 2012, these efforts culminated in the inauguration of the Memorial to the Sinti and Roma of Europe Murdered under the National Socialist Regime. There are also quite a number of programmes in Europe that fight racism, promote tolerance, and seek to protect ethnic minorities. Notably, 12 EU member countries signed a declaration to take part in the “Decade of Roma Inclusion 2005–2015”, committing to increased efforts against discrimination and towards the Roma’s economic and social empowerment. Regrettably, the initiative has contributed little to improving the Roma’s situation, perhaps also because Roma had not been included in decision-making bodies.

By supporting the Digital Archive and Forum of the Roma, the Federal Cultural Foundation also wants to send a signal: one of the largest foundations under public law attends to Europe’s largest minority, acknowledges the wealth of their centuries-old culture, and makes it public. The fact that a German federal institution embraces such a project is of particular significance in view of the Porajmos – the holocaust against the Roma, which claimed 500,000 of their lives.

Archive Sections, Team of Curators, Advisory Board

An international team of curators will be responsible for the design and contents of RomArchive’s individual sections. Isaac Blake, dancer, choreographer and director of the Romani Cultural & Arts Company in the UK is curator for dance. The film section is curated by the filmmaker Katalin Bársony, director of Romedia Foundation, a Hungarian Roma NGO. The Austrian literary theorist Beate Eder-Jordan is curator for literature. The US-based Czech ethnomusicologist, musician, and Roma activist Petra Gelbart curates the archive section music. Curatorial responsibility for the theatre and drama section lies with Miguel Ángel Vargas Rubio, art historian, theatre director, actor, flamenco singer and –guitarist, along with the co-curator Dragan Ristić, singer of the rock band Kal. He studied drama and has published on the history of Roma theatre. Tímea Junghaus, art historian and curator of the international Roma Pavilion ‘Paradise Lost’ at the 52nd Venice Biennial, is responsible for the visual arts section. The archive section Politics of Photography is curated by the photographer and curator André Raatzsch. An additional section – under the responsibility of scholars Thomas Acton, Angéla Kóczé, Anna Mirga and Jan Selling – will hold scholarly articles on the civil rights movement of Roma in Europe; it will also present early first-person testimonies of Roma persecuted under the National Socialist regime, gathered by historian Karola Fings in the context of her project “Voices of the Victims”. RomArchive as a whole will receive scholarly guidance by Markus End on issues surrounding antiziganism.

An international advisory board will support and advise the curators and determine strategic project guidelines. Its members are individual artists, scholars, and activists: Gerhard Baumgartner, historian, Austria; Nicoleta Bitu (Chair), Romano ButiQ, Romania; Klaus-Michael Bogdal (Deputy Chair), literary theorist, Germany; Ethel Brooks, sociologist, USA; Pedro Aguilera Cortés, political scientist, Spain; Ágnes Daróczi, activist, Hungary; Merfin Demir (Deputy Chair), Amaro Drom – Interkulturelle Jugendselbstorganisation von Roma und Nicht-Roma, Germany; Jana Horváthová, Museum of Romani Culture, Czech Republic; Zeljko Jovanovic, Roma Initiatives Office, Hungary; Oswald Marschall, Documentation and Cultural Centre of German Sinti and Roma, Germany; Moritz Pankok, Gallery Kai Dikhas, Germany; Romani Rose, Documentation and Cultural Centre of German Sinti and Roma, Germany; Riccardo M Sahiti, conductor, Serbia / Germany; Anna Szász, European Roma Cultural Foundation, Hungary.

 

Funding and Long-Term Perspectives

The Digital Archive and Forum of the Roma is funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation.

The European Roma Cultural Foundation and the Central Council of German Sinti and Roma have acted in an advisory capacity from the initial stages of planning.

The Goethe-Institut and the German Federal Agency for Civic Education also support RomArchive.

The Stiftung Deutsche Kinemathek is the cooperative partner and is responsible for the technical implementation. For international accessibility, the archive will be set up in several languages. Besides English and German, the Romani language will be used. Translations into additional languages are envisaged, depending on funding by the countries in which they are predominantly spoken.

The Berlin-based organisation “sauerbrey | raabe gUG” is responsible for developing the RomArchive within the next five years. The project’s initiators Isabel Raabe and Franziska Sauerbrey will then permanently transfer responsibility of the RomArchive to a European Roma organisation. To ease this transition, the German Federal Agency for Civic Education has already pledged to ensure editorial maintenance of RomArchive for an additional five years, beginning in 2020.

Daniel Baker, Gipsy strike through, enamel and silver laf on perspex, 60cm x 20cm, 2015 [Ausschnitt]

RomArchive

Digitales Archiv der Sinti und Roma

Delaine Le Bas, Self Portrait, Hellerau Dresden, 2015, © AnnetteHauschild/ OSTKREUZ

RomArchive

Digitales Archiv der Sinti und Roma

Mask Series 2012 – Ongoing, Tara Darby & Delaine Le Bas, Fotos: Tara Darby

RomArchive

Digitales Archiv der Sinti und Roma

Daniel Baker, Mobile Surveillance Device, mirrored glass, steel and mixed media, 60cm x 60cm x 95cm, 2015

RomArchive

Digitales Archiv der Sinti und Roma

Die Kulturstiftung des Bundes fördert den Aufbau eines digitalen Archivs für Kunst der Sinti und Roma. RomArchive soll ein international zugänglicher Ort werden, der die Kulturen und Geschichten der Sinti und der Roma sichtbar macht. Begleitet von Informations- und Kulturveranstaltungen wird in den Jahren 2015 bis 2019 eine Sammlung von internationaler Kunst aller Gattungen archiviert, erweitert um zeitgeschichtliche Dokumente und wissenschaftliche Positionen. Inhaltlich wird jeder Archivbereich von einem eigenen Kuratorenteam verantwortet. Dabei erhebt RomArchive keinen Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit, sondern versteht sich als stetig wachsende Plattform, die exemplarische Sammlungen präsentiert. Mit seinen kuratierten Inhalten, dem modernen Storytelling und der intelligenten Kontextualisierung unterscheidet sich RomArchive in seiner Ästhetik und Methodik von statischen Datenbanken.

Anders als in „hegemonialen“ Archiven, in denen Sinti und Roma meist ausschließlich stereotyp dargestellt werden, steht bei RomArchive ihre Selbstrepräsentation im Mittelpunkt: Es entstehen Erzählungen, die gerade auch die Heterogenität ihrer unterschiedlichen nationalen und kulturellen Identitäten widerspiegeln; der Reichtum einer jahrhundertealten und bis in die Gegenwart überaus lebendigen wie vielseitigen künstlerischen und kulturellen Produktion, die eng mit der europäischen verwoben ist, wird öffentlich sichtbar und zugänglich. Somit richtet sich RomArchive nicht nur an Europas größte Minderheit, sondern auch an Europas Mehrheitsgesellschaften.

Die Idee

Die Idee für RomArchive basiert auf einer intensiven Recherche und zahlreichen Interviews, die die Projektinitiatorinnen Franziska Sauerbrey und Isabel Raabe mit Künstler/innen, Kurator/innen, Aktivisten/innen und Wissenschaftler/innen der Sinti und Roma europaweit geführt haben. In diesen wurde deutlich der Bedarf formuliert, einen international zugänglichen Ort zu schaffen, der die Kulturen und Geschichten der Sinti und der Roma sichtbar macht, um auf diese Weise den beständigen Fremdbeschreibungen und Stereotypen mit einer von Sinti und Roma selbst erzählten Gegengeschichte zu begegnen.


Hintergrund

Rund 12 Millionen Sinti und Roma leben in Europa. Sie bilden trotz ihrer kulturellen Heterogenität, ihren diversen staatlichen Zugehörigkeiten und ihrer unterschiedlichen Geschichte die größte europäische Minderheit gemeinsamer Herkunft. Sie leben in den Mehrheitsgesellschaften der Welt, oft am Rande der Gesellschaft, manchmal integriert oder auch vollständig assimiliert.

Die deutschen Sinti leben seit dem 14. Jahrhundert auf deutschsprachigem Gebiet, eine kleinere Gruppe von Roma erst seit der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts. Die meisten Roma sind in Ost- und Südosteuropa heimisch geworden. Als ursprüngliche Heimat gelten der Nordwesten des heutigen Indiens und Pakistan. Einige der deutschen Sinti und Roma verstehen sich als zwei unterschiedliche Ethnien.

Eine Studie von Markus End aus dem Jahr 2014 im Auftrag des Dokumentations- und Kulturzentrums Deutscher Sinti und Roma belegt, dass die Berichterstattung in den Medien noch immer den Kontinuitätslinien der Diskriminierung und Kriminalisierung folgt. Positive Gegenbilder oder Aufklärung über Wirklichkeit und Kultur der Sinti und Roma gibt es kaum. Die Wahrnehmung basiert auf Zuschreibungen und Fremdbildern, seit jeher geprägt von einem Mischverhältnis aus Faszination und Verachtung. Bis heute wird die Erzählung vom „fahrenden Volk“, von der Wildheit und Leidenschaftlichkeit wiederholt, tatsächlich weiß die Mehrheitsgesellschaft jedoch wenig über Sinti und Roma.

Was in der Öffentlichkeit als „Roma-Kultur“ verkannt wird, ist meist einfach Armut. Doch auch andere Realitäten, wie beispielsweise die der Sinti, die seit Jahrhunderten in Deutschland leben, werden kaum wahrgenommen.

Der Zentralrat Deutscher Sinti und Roma und das ihm angegliederte Dokumentations- und Kulturzentrum setzen sich seit Jahren erfolgreich für die Rechte und Anerkennung der Minderheit ein, was 2012 seinen vorläufigen Höhepunkt mit der Einweihung des Denkmals für die im Nationalsozialismus ermordeten Sinti und Roma in Europa erreichte. In Europa gibt es inzwischen zahlreiche Programme gegen Rassismus, für Toleranz und zum Schutz von nationalen Minderheiten; etwa die von 12 EU-Staaten unterzeichnete „Decade of Roma Inclusion 2005-2015“, eine Verpflichtung zum verstärkten Bemühen gegen Diskriminierung der Roma und ihre Stärkung in wirtschaftlicher und sozialer Hinsicht. Leider hat sie kaum eine Besserung der Lage der Roma erreicht, wohl auch, weil Roma nicht in Entscheider-Gremien einbezogen waren.

Mit der Förderung von RomArchive möchte die Kulturstiftung nicht zuletzt ein Zeichen setzen: Eine der größten öffentlichen Stiftungen Europas widmet sich der größten Minderheit Europas, erkennt den Reichtum ihrer jahrhundertealten Kultur an und macht diese publik. Dass sich eine deutsche Bundeseinrichtung dieses Themas annimmt, ist vor dem Hintergrund des Holocaust an 500.000 Sinti und Roma von besonderer Bedeutung.

Archivbereiche, Kuratorenteam, Beirat

Ein internationales Kuratorenteam ist für die Konzeption und Inhalte der einzelnen Archivbereiche verantwortlich. Für die Bildende Kunst ist Tímea Junghaus verantwortlich, Kunsthistorikerin und Kuratorin des internationalen Roma-Pavillons „Paradise Lost“ auf der 52. Biennale di Venezia. Den Bereich Film kuratiert Katalin Bársony, die mit dem HBO Adria Award ausgezeichnete Filmemacherin und Direktorin der ungarischen Roma-NGO Romedia Foundation. Kuratorin für Literatur ist die österreichische Literaturwissenschaftlerin Beate Eder-Jordan. Den Bereich Musik verantwortet die in den USA lebende tschechische Musikethnologin, Musikerin und Roma-Aktivistin Petra Gelbart. Den Tanz kuratiert der Tänzer, Choreograph und Direktor der Romani Cultural & Arts Company, Großbritannien, Isaac Blake. Den Bereich Theater und Drama kuratiert Miguel Ángel Vargas Rubio, studierter Kunsthistoriker, Theaterregisseur, Schauspieler, Flamencosänger und –gitarrist gemeinsam mit dem Ko-Kurator Dragan Ristić, Sänger der Rock-Band Kal. Er studierte Theaterwissenschaften und veröffentlichte zur Geschichte des Roma-Theaters. Den Archivbereich Bilderpolitik kuratiert André Raatzsch, ein mit dem Barcsay-Preis geehrte Künstler und Kurator. Ein weiterer Archivbereich wird in der Verantwortung der Wissenschaftler Thomas Acton, Angéla Kóczé, Anna Mirga und Jan Selling wissenschaftliche Beiträge zum Thema „Bürgerrechtsbewegung der Sinti und Roma in Europa“ beinhalten sowie im Rahmen des Projekts „Voices of the Victims“ der Historikerin Karola Fings frühe Selbstzeugnisse von Sinti und Roma zur NS-Verfolgung. Die Wissenschaftliche Begleitung des Projekts zum Thema Antiziganismus übernimmt Markus End.

Ein internationaler Beirat unterstützt und berät die Kurator/innen und bestimmt die strategischen Richtlinien des Projekts. Der Beirat besteht aus Künstler/innen, Wissenschaftler/innen und Aktivist/innen: Gerhard Baumgartner, Historiker, Österreich; Nicoleta Bitu, Politikwissenschaftlerin und Direktorin von Romano ButiQ, Rumänien (Vorsitzende des Beirats); Klaus-Michael Bogdal, Literaturwissenschaftler, Deutschland (Stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Beirats); Ethel Brooks, Soziologin, USA; Pedro Aguilera Cortés, Politikwissenschaftler, Spanien; Ágnes Daróczi, Kulturmanagerin, Ungarn; Merfin Demir, Aktivist und Vorsitzender von Amaro Drom – Interkulturelle Jugendselbstorganisation von Roma und Nicht-Roma, Deutschland (Stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Beirats); Jana Horváthová, Kunsthistorikerin und Direktorin des Museums für Roma-Kultur, Tschechische Republik; Zeljko Jovanovic, Leiter des Roma Initiatives Office, Ungarn; Oswald Marschall, Dokumentations- und Kulturzentrum Deutscher Sinti und Roma, Deutschland; Moritz Pankok, Kurator und Leiter der Galerie Kai Dikhas, Deutschland; Romani Rose, Vorsitzender des Dokumentations- und Kulturzentrums sowie des Zentralrats Deutscher Sinti und Roma, Deutschland; Riccardo M Sahiti, Dirigent und Leiter der Roma und Sinti Philharmoniker, Serbien / Deutschland; Anna Szász, Soziologin, Ungarn.

 

Förderung und Nachhaltigkeit

RomArchive wird gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes.

Vom Planungsbeginn an standen dem Projekt die European Roma Cultural Foundation und der Zentralrat Deutscher Sinti und Roma beratend zur Seite. Auch das Goethe-Institut und die Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung beteiligen sich an der Förderung von RomArchive.

Die Stiftung Deutsche Kinemathek ist Kooperationspartner und mit der technischen Umsetzung betraut. Um RomArchive international zugänglich zu machen, wird es mehrsprachig aufgebaut. Neben Deutsch und Englisch verwendet das Archiv Romanes. Übersetzungen in weitere Sprachen sind vorgesehen, je nach Finanzierung durch die Länder, in denen sie vornehmlich gesprochen werden.

Projektträgerin für den Aufbau von RomArchive innerhalb von fünf Jahren ist die „sauerbrey | raabe gUG“. Im Anschluss übergeben die beiden Projektinitiatorinnen Isabel Raabe und Franziska Sauerbrey RomArchive dauerhaft an eine europäische Roma-Organisation. Um diesen Übergang zu erleichtern, hat die Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung bereits zugesagt, ab 2020 die redaktionelle Betreuung des Archivs für weitere fünf Jahre finanziell zu unterstützen.

Termine
08.04.2016 Aufbauhaus, Berlin RomaDay - Hörbuchvorstellung, Vernissage, Performance, Installation, Konzert und Party

Weitere Informationen zum RomaDay im Aufbauhaus:
http://aufbauhaus.de/veranstaltungen/roma-day