Music and Sound

"The Ocean is Closed" von She She Pop und zeitkratzer

The Ocean is Closed

zeitkratzer plays She She Pop. A concert performance

zeitkratzer is a multiple award-winning European soloist ensemble known for its distinctive programmes and unconventional collaborations. Its repertory includes works by John Cage, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Nam June Paik and Philip Glass, as well as joint projects by renowned musicians such as Lou Reed, Carsten Nicolai and Elliott Sharp. Their past performances have included interdisciplinary cooperative projects with choreographers and dancers such as Sasha Waltz and Rubato, fashion designers like Lisa D and video artists like Lillevan. zeitkratzer is now developing the concert performance “The Ocean is Closed” in collaboration with She She Pop, a performance collective which specialises in the art of self-exposure and the public treatment of taboos.
In this production, She She Pop highlights the hidden rituals and normal routines of musicians, and attempts to “alienate” them from their instruments in an artistically productive manner. What aspects of a performance situation are suppressed or concealed? And what happens when they are no longer restrained and suddenly force their way onto the stage? In this way, She She Pop deconstructs the ceremonial ritual of the concert performance and thus musically and intellectually challenges both the musicians and the audience. “The Ocean is Closed” will demonstrate whether and at what lengths musicians will defend the dignity of their music.

Artistic directors: Reinhold Friedl, Lisa Lucassen, Sebastian Bark
Artists: Sebastian Bark, Lisa Lucassen, Ilia Papatheodorou from She She Pop, as well as Biliana Voutchkova (violin), Nora Krahl (violoncello), Elena Kakaliagou (horn), Hilary Jeffery (trombone), Reinhold Friedl (piano), Maurice de Martin (percussion) from Zeitkratzer

Dates and Venues:

HAU, Berlin: 27 - 30 October 2017;
RomaEuropa Festival, Rome: 26 – 27 November 2017;
Kammerspiele, Munich: 2 - 3 December 2017;

Musik und Klang

"The Ocean is Closed" von She She Pop und zeitkratzer

The Ocean is Closed

zeitkratzer plays She She Pop. Eine Konzertperformance

zeitkratzer ist ein vielfach ausgezeichnetes europäisches Solisten-Ensemble, das für eigenwillige Programme und ungewöhnliche Kooperationen bekannt ist. Sein Repertoire umfasst Werke von John Cage bis Karlheinz Stockhausen, von Nam June Paik bis Philip Glass sowie Kooperationen mit Musikern wie Lou Reed, Carsten Nicolai oder Elliott Sharp. Hinzu kamen interdisziplinäre Kooperationen mit Choreografen und Tänzern wie Sasha Waltz oder Rubato, mit der Modedesignerin Lisa D oder Videokünstlern wie Lillevan. Gemeinsam mit She She Pop, einem Performancekollektiv, das die Kunst der Selbstentblößung und die öffentliche Verhandlung von Tabus zum Programm erhoben hat, entsteht nun die Konzertperformance „The Ocean is Closed“.
She She Pop versucht bei dieser Produktion, die verborgenen Rituale und die Selbstverständlichkeiten im Handeln der Musiker zu hinterfragen und sie in künstlerisch produktiver Weise von ihren Instrumenten zu „entfremden“. Welche Aspekte der Aufführungssituation werden verdrängt oder zurückgehalten und wie kann es aussehen, wenn das Zurückgehaltene plötzlich auf die Bühne drängt? So dekonstruiert She She Pop das feierliche Ritual eines Konzertabends und fordert die Musiker und ihr Publikum musikalisch und intellektuell heraus. „The Ocean is Closed“ wird zeigen, ob und wie es den Musikern gelingt, die Würde ihrer Musik zu verteidigen.

Künstlerische Leitung: Reinhold Friedl, Lisa Lucassen, Sebastian Bark
Von und mit: Sebastian Bark, Lisa Lucassen, Ilia Papatheodorou von She She Pop, sowie Biliana Voutchkova (Violine), Nora Krahl (Violoncello), Elena Kakaliagou (Horn), Hilary Jeffery (Posaune), Reinhold Friedl (Klavier), Maurice de Martin (Perkussion) von Zeitkratzer

Termine
27.10.2017 - 30.10.2017 HAU Hebbel am Ufer (HAU1), Berlin Performance
26.11.2017 - 27.11.2017 RomaEuropa Festival, Rom Performance
02.12.2017 - 03.12.2017 Münchner Kammerspiele, München Performance