Word and Knowledge

Next Library Conference Logo

Next Library Conference

International conference on the future of public libraries

Public libraries are places of knowledge-gathering and dissemination. Yet this knowledge grows and changes as modern society develops. In the future, libraries will not so much resemble a collection of media as they will a platform for bringing people together and helping them share knowledge. Furthermore, in a multi-ethnic urban society, libraries will play an important role in cultural education in that they will promote both individual learning and cultural participation for all citizens.

The Next Library® Conference in 2009 paved the way for the redesign of the innovative public library in Aarhus and has since become one of the most important international conferences for public libraries. Its task is to explore the future of public libraries in the 21st century at greater depth. In late summer 2018, the conference will take place at the Zentral- und Landesbibliothek Berlin (ZLB) and address the new role of libraries as motors of social change and places for communicating urban diversity. The conference will also examine current developments in the area of library work and encourage networking between members of the educational, cultural, design and urban development fields. In this way, the organisers wish to offer impulses to the German library sector and municipal development. The decidedly international orientation of Next Library® Conference is meant to advance its ideas to Europe and the world.

Next Library® Conference is an event for experts and professionals with a distinctly creative character. In addition to a competition, the conference in Berlin will include various workshops and participative events at a “Library Campus” with showrooms that allow participants to put their innovative concepts to the test using physical prototypes. These small, temporary installations, such as “POPup Library” will provide the general public a glimpse of what the “library of tomorrow” might look like.

Next Library@ Conference — The Future of Public Libraries. An event of the Zentral- und Landesbibliothek Berlin (ZLB)* and the Kulturstiftung des Bundes** in cooperation with the, Kulturprojekte Berlin GmbH and Aarhus Public Libraries. Next Library Berlin is a Satellite Conference of Next Library@ Aarhus. *Central and Regional Library Berlin 1**German Federal Cultural Foundation

Date
12.09.2018 - 15.09.2018 Zentral- und Landesbibliothek, Berlin International conference

Wort und Wissen

Next Library Conference Logo

Next Library Conference

Internationale Zukunftskonferenz für Öffentliche Bibliotheken

Öffentliche Bibliotheken sind Orte der Sammlung und Verbreitung von Wissen. Doch dieses Wissen wächst und verändert sich in dem Maße, in dem sich die moderne Gesellschaft wandelt. Die Bibliothek der Zukunft wird weniger eine Mediensammlung als eine Plattform sein, Menschen zusammenzubringen und ihnen dabei zu helfen, ihr Wissen auszutauschen. Sie erfüllt in der multiethnischen Stadtgesellschaft außerdem eine wichtige kulturelle Vermittlungsfunktion, indem sie neben individueller Bildung auch die kulturelle Teilhabe aller Bürgerinnen und Bürger unterstützt.

Die Next Library® Conference war 2009 Ausgangspunkt der Neugestaltung der innovativen Stadtbibliothek Aarhus und ist seitdem eine der wichtigsten internationalen Konferenzen für öffentliche Bibliotheken. Ihre Aufgabe ist es, die Zukunft der öffentlichen Bibliotheken im 21. Jahrhundert näher zu beleuchten. Im Spätsommer 2018 soll sie an der Zentral- und Landesbibliothek Berlin (ZLB) stattfinden und die neue Rolle von Bibliotheken als Motoren gesellschaftlichen Wandels und Orte der Vermittlung städtischer Vielfalt thematisieren. Die Konferenz wird außerdem den Entwicklungsstand zeitgemäßer Bibliotheksarbeit aufzeigen und die Vernetzung von Akteuren aus Bildung, Kultur, Design und Stadtentwicklung vorantreiben. Auf diesem Wege möchten die Organisatoren dem deutschen Bibliothekswesen und der kommunalen Entwicklung modellhafte Impulse vermitteln. Die betont internationale Ausrichtung der Next Library® Conference soll ihre Ideen auf Europa und die Welt ausstrahlen lassen.

Next Library® Conference zeichnet sich als Fachveranstaltung durch ihren kreativen Werkstattcharakter aus. In Berlin ist neben einem Wettbewerb, Workshops und Beteiligungsangeboten an einen „Bibliothekscampus“ gedacht, dessen Showrooms es erlauben sollen, innovative Ideen anhand erfahrbarer Modellentwürfe praktisch zu erproben. Die kleinen, provisorischen Installationen wie zum Beispiel eine „POPup-Bibliothek“ werden auch der interessierten Öffentlichkeit einen Blick auf die „Bibliothek von Morgen“ ermöglichen.

Next Library® Conference – Internationale Zukunftskonferenz für Öffentliche Bibliotheken. Eine Veranstaltung der Zentral- und Landesbibliothek Berlin (ZLB) und der Kulturstiftung des Bundes in Kooperation mit Kulturprojekte Berlin GmbH und Aarhus Public Libraries. Next Library® Berlin ist eine Sonderveranstaltung von Next Library® Aarhus.

Termine
12.09.2018 - 15.09.2018 Zentral- und Landesbibliothek, Berlin Internationale Konferenz