Moke, Kinshasa, 1999. Foto: N. Lackner/UMJ

Congo Stars

Popular contemporary painting from the Congo – funded by the TURN Fund

Like in many African countries, the contemporary art scene in the Democratic Republic of the Congo faces a dilemma with regard to how it is represented abroad. For decades, the global art market has defined Congolese art as “peinture populaire”. After the 1960s, the aesthetics of this specific popular painting style diverged from the academic, idealised style of the colonial period (1885 – 1960), and has since produced a small number of internationally acclaimed Congolese artists, the best-known of whom is Chéri Samba (*1956).

The exhibition “Congo Stars” by the Kunsthalle Tübingen in cooperation with the artists‘ collective PICHA in Lubumbashi and the Kunsthalle Graz aims to broaden this view and present the wealth, functions and lines of tradition of locally oriented popular painting in the Congo from the 1960s to the present. The exhibition features works collected by the famous Canadian historian and African Studies scholar Bogumil Jewsiewicki, which went on display at the Musée Royale de l'Afrique Centrale in Tervuren in 2013. The collection offers a far more comprehensive image of Congolese painting than is normally the case on the international art market.

In the exhibition the Kunsthalle Tübingen presents locally oriented and internationally successful popular Congolese painting, and compares it to contemporary pop art in other media. Arranged according to thematic areas and recurring motifs, the exhibition sheds light on the changing social and political circumstances and offer insights into today’s popular art trends. It also examines the state of popular art in the Congo today and what international markets and exhibitions regard as popular art from the Congo.

In cooperation with PICHA in Lubumbashi, the project organisers will invite Congolese artists to participate in a residency programme in Tübingen where they will have the opportunity to develop their artworks. Following its presentation at the Kunsthaus Graz in 2018, the exhibition will be shown in Tübingen in 2019.

Artistic director: Holger Kube Ventura (DE)
Curators: Sammy Baloji (CD), Christine Biuard (BE), Bambi Ceuppens (BE), Holger Kube Ventura (DE), Barbara Steiner (AT)
Participating artists: Joseph lbongo (CD), Eddy Kamwanga (CD), Jean Kemba (CD)

Tentative dates

23.9.2018 - 20.1.2019, Kunsthaus Graz

Summer 2019, Kunsthalle Tübingen

Moke, Kinshasa, 1999. Foto: N. Lackner/UMJ

Congo Stars

Zeitgenössische populäre Malerei aus dem Kongo – gefördert im Fonds TURN

Wie viele afrikanische Länder hat auch die Demokratische Republik Kongo in der zeitgenössischen Kunst ein Repräsentationsdilemma: Seit Jahrzehnten ist sie durch den globalen Kunstausstellungsbetrieb hauptsächlich auf die „peinture populaire“ festgelegt. Diese spezifische Ästhetik der populären Malerei setzte sich nach den 1960ern von einer akademischen, idealisierten Malerei der Kolonialzeit (1885-1960) ab und wird seitdem durch eine kleine Anzahl international erfolgreicher kongolesischer Künstler vertreten, deren bekanntester Protagonist Chéri Samba (*1956) ist.

Die Ausstellung „Congo Stars" in der Kunsthalle Tübingen in Kooperation mit der Künstlervereinigung PICHA in Lubumbashi und der Kunsthalle Graz will diese Rezeption erweitern und den Reichtum, die Funktionen und die Traditionslinien von lokal orientierter populärer Malerei im Kongo zwischen den 1960er Jahren und der Gegenwart zeigen. Sie stützt sich dabei wesentlich auf die 2013 dem Musée Royale de l'Afrique Centrale in Tervuren zugänglich gemachte Sammlung des berühmten kanadischen Historikers und Afrikanisten Bogumil Jewsiewicki. Die Sammlung offenbart ein wesentlich komplexeres Bild von kongolesischer Malerei, als es auf dem internationalen Kunstmarkt vorherrscht.

Mit der Ausstellung setzt die Kunsthalle Tübingen die lokal orientierte als auch die international erfolgreiche populäre Malerei in ein Verhältnis zu zeitgenössischer populärer Kunst in anderen Medien. Organisiert nach Themenkreisen und wiederkehrenden Motiven, die im Rückblick vom Wandel gesellschaftlicher und politischer Verhältnisse erzählen und Einblicke in heutige populäre Kunstströmungen im Kongo bieten, fragt die Ausstellung nach dem, was heute populäre Kunst im Kongo ist – und was auf internationalen Märkten und Ausstellungen für populäre Kunst aus dem Kongo gehalten wird.

In Kooperation mit PICHA in Lubumbashi werden kongolesische Künstler für Residencies und zur Realisierung von Kunstwerken für die Ausstellung nach Tübingen eingeladen. Vor der Station in Tübingen ist die Ausstellung im Kunsthaus Graz zu sehen.

Künstlerische Leitung: Holger Kube Ventura (DE)
Kurator/innen: Sammy Baloji (CD), Christine Biuard (BE), Bambi Ceuppens (BE), Holger Kube Ventura (DE), Barbara Steiner (AT)
Mit: Joseph lbongo (CD), Eddy Kamwanga (CD), Jean Kemba (CD)

Geplante Termine

23.9.2018 - 20.1.2019, Kunsthaus Graz

Sommer 2019, Kunsthalle Tübingen