The Unfettered Gaze

The Rasch brothers and their pioneering influence on modern architecture

Kengo Kuma, Teehaus, 2007, Ansicht bei Nacht 2 / Elevation during night 2, Foto: Uwe Dettmar, Frankfurt

“This is where new architecture is being made.” This programmatic claim of 1927 fittingly describes the ambitions of the brothers Heinz (1902 – 1996) and Bodo (1903 – 1995) Rasch, whose visionary ideas and concepts in architecture and design made them pioneers of classical modernity. Between 1926 and 1930, they designed furniture, proposed floating structures and urban spatial concepts, and created a vibrant collection of works. Their audacious concepts included graphic works, typography, furniture but also architecture. And although their suspended houses, container structures and pneumatic buildings significantly influenced the development of architecture and design in the 20th century, the Rasch brothers are relatively unknown today. The exhibition project “The Unfettered Gaze” offered a comprehensive view of their achievements, featuring selected work complexes, such as the Weissenhof Estate in Stuttgart, with architectural models, letters, plans and historic photos. Models and sketches by Norman Foster, Coop Himmelb(l)au and Haus Rucker Co, and exemplary project models by younger architectural teams, such as Studio James & Mau and NL-Architects, illustrated the lines of development and points of reference between the Rasch brothers’ concept of “New Building” and contemporary architecture. In addition contemporary artists developed spatial interventions which addressed and reacted to the works and visions of the Rasch brothers.

Artistic director: Roland Nachtigäller
Artists: Michael Beutler, Luc Deleu (BE), Luka Fineisen, Erika Hock (KG), Ernesto Neto (BR), Martin Pfeifle
Architects: Heinz Rasch, Bodo Rasch, Archigram (GB), Coop Himmelb(l)au (AT), Francois Dallegret (FR), Luc Deleu & T.O.P. office (BE), Egon Eiermann (DE), Norman Foster (GB), Bertrand Goldberg (US), Nicholas Grimshaw (GB), Haus-Rucker-Co (AT), Michael Hopkins (GB), Kengo Kuma (JP), Kisho Kurokawa (JP), NL Architects (NL), Cedric Price (GB), Richard Rogers, Rogers Stirk Harbour & Partners (GB), Antonio Stinco, Karl Schwanzer (AT), Spillmann Echsle Architekten (CH), Studio D'Urbino Lomazzi (ES/IT), Studio James & Mau (ES).


Marta Herford

Goebenstr. 2–10

32052 Herford (external link, opens in a new window)