Radio Play Week

International radio arts festival

The Radio Play Week (Woche des Hörspiels) regards itself as the "Berlinale" of radio art. Every year, the most exciting German-language radio play productions and works by international sound artists are presented at the festival. One of the highlights is the PLOPP! Award conferred by enthusiastic festival goers to the best independent radio play makers. Originally conceived as a workshop for writers, directors and dramaturges in 1985, the Radio Play Week has become one of the most important festivals of the German-language radio play scene. After a three-year hiatus, the festival returned in 2007 with a completely new programmatic direction. With featured artists such as Chris Watson and Janet Cardiff, known for her Soundwalks, the festival focused on sound art and artistic works based on the radio medium. The 2007 festival also featured a guest country for the first time - Portugal.

Artistic directors: Frank Kaspar, Gaby Hartel
Artists: Katharina Franck & Nuno Rebelo (P), Helgard Haug & Daniel Wetzel, Erik Mikael Karlsson (S), LIGNA, Mats Lindström (S), João Ricardo de Barros Oliveira (P), Bastian Pastewka, Rimini Protokoll (Helgard Haug & Daniel Wetzel), Kathrin Röggla (A), Serotonin, Chris Watson (GB), Alvaro García de Zúñiga (P) and others

Venue and schedule: Academy of the Arts, Berlin, 20 - 29 Apr. 2007


Akademie der Künste

Pariser Platz 4

10827 Berlin (external link, opens in a new window)