Board of Trustees


The Board of Trustees represents the highest level of decision-making at the Federal Cultural Foundation. It sets the guidelines of the Foundation’s activities and decides on its funding priorities. Based on the recommendations of the Executive Board, the Board of Trustees appoints the Jury which selects the applications in General Project Funding.


Chair of the Board of Trustees

Claudia Roth

Minister of State for Culture and the Media

Representative of the Foreign Office


Representative of the Federal Ministry of Finance


Representative of the Bundestag

Prof Dr Norbert Lammert

President of the German Bundestag (out of service)

Burkhard Blienert

Marco Wanderwitz


Representatives of the Federal States (KMK)

Rainer Robra

Head of the State Chancellery and State Minister for Culture in Saxony-Anhalt

Dr. Carsten Brosda

Head of the Ministry of Culture and Media Hamburg

Municipal government representatives


Councillor for Education, Culture and Sports, German Association of Cities

Uwe Lübking

Councillor, German Association of Cities

Chairperson of the Board of Trustees of the Cultural Foundation of German States

Hendrik Wüst

Minister-President of North Rhine-Westphalia

Leading cultural and artistic figures

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Wolf Lepenies

Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin

Prof. Dr. Bénédicte Savoy

Technische Universität Berlin

Wolfgang Tillmans